Zoom has released updates to improve the privacy and security of its video conferencing platform, including a new security button visible to hosts. The new security toolbar features options to lock your meeting, remove participants, disable the ability for screen sharing or chat, and change the way your waiting room functions.
A highlight of new enhancements includes:
Security Toolbar Icon for Hosts
- The meeting host will now have a Security option in their meeting controls. This includes locking the meeting, enabling Waiting Room, and more. Users can also now enable Waiting Room in a meeting, even if the feature was not turned on before the start of the meeting.
Invite Button on Meeting Client Toolbar
- The button to invite others to join your Zoom meeting is now available at the bottom of the Participants panel
Meeting ID No Longer Displayed
- The meeting ID will no longer be displayed in the title bar of the Zoom meeting window. The meeting ID can be found by clicking on Participants, then Invite or by clicking on the info icon at the top left of the client window.
Remove Attendee Attention Tracking Feature
- Zoom has removed the attendee attention tracker feature as part of our commitment to the security and privacy of our customers.
File Transfers
- The option to do third-party file transfers in Meeting and Chat was temporarily disabled. Local file transfer is available with our latest release. Third-party file transfers and clickable URLs in meeting chat will be added back in an upcoming release.
Join Before Host Emails Disabled
- Notifications sent to the host via email when participants are waiting for the host to join the meeting have been disabled.
Setting to Allow Participants to Rename Themselves
- Account admins and hosts can now disable the ability for participants to rename themselves in any meeting. This setting is available at the account, group, and user level in the Web portal.